Finalists revealed for awards celebrating heroes of the control room

Finalists revealed for awards celebrating heroes of the control room

Following deliberation by the judges (pictured), the finalists have been revealed for awards recognising the extraordinary dedication and selfless service to the public provided by control room heroes across the country.

The fourth annual APD Control Room Awards are being staged as a virtual event and will provide a vital opportunity to celebrate the inspiring work of control room teams and individuals during a year unlike any other.

The awards, organised by control room technology leader APD Communications, will take place on 14 May as an online event, due to COVID-19 restrictions, and provide a socially distanced night to remember for the unsung heroes of the control room.

The event will feature 11 awards, including the Community Champion Award, which will be chosen via an interactive vote by those participating in the event.

Entries were received from almost 100 organisations across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland and almost 500 control room employees will receive pin badges of honour from APD having been nominated individually or as a team member.

Rhiannon Beeson, Director of Control Room and founder of the Control Room Awards, said: “These awards bring to the forefront truly extraordinary examples of professionalism,

resilience and skill by control room operators and teams who go above and beyond, day after day, to serve and protect the public.

“The past year has been one like no other, with the global pandemic applying new pressures to control room employees. Critical control rooms around the UK deal with extreme highs and lows. Fire, ambulance, police and coastguard, to name but a few, take thousands of life-saving calls a week. And, while, they may say they’re doing their job, here at APD we think this is a community of key workers worth recognising and it is such a privilege to be a small part of that.”

APD Communications develops critical, life-saving software used by emergency services organisations across the UK, and the awards reflect APD’s desire to ensure the outstanding work of control room teams and operators is recognised and rewarded publicly.

Leading tech company telent is once again the Platinum Partner of the awards, while other sponsors are the BAPCO Annual Event, Embrace Child Victims of Crime, the Emergency Services Show, Mark Allen Group, RapidSOS, Red Box and UKCloud.

The shortlisted entries were selected by a panel of judges with extensive experience of working in or with the emergency services and critical control organisations.

The APD Control Room Awards 2021 judges are:

  • Mike Isherwood, Managing Director, APD Communications.
  • Shani Latif, Sales Director, telent.
  • John Anthony, President, British Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (BAPCO).
  • Monica Million, Executive Director, Colorado 9-1-1 Resource Centre.
  • Teri Seaber, former Group Commander, Combined Fire Control of Cambridgeshire and Suffolk Fire and Rescue Services.                                                                                                       

The APD Control Room Awards 2021 finalists are:

Award for Services to the Public, sponsored by Mark Allen Group

  • Jen Dalton, Leicestershire Police
  • Rebecca Dingvean, London Fire Brigade
  • William Lilley, Kent Police

Control Room Call Taker of the Year, sponsored by RapidSOS

  • Amy King, Kent Police
  • Rebecca Neale, Avon and Somerset Police
  • Hannah Shrimpton, North East Ambulance Service

Control Room Dispatcher of the Year

  • Luke Barnes, Avon and Somerset Police
  • Natalie Harman, Kent Police
  • Patricia Holland, West Mercia Police

Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by telent

  • Ben Hawkins, East of England Ambulance Service
  • Lauren Kay, North East Ambulance Service
  • Freddie Martin, Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service

Community Champion, sponsored by Red Box

  • Erica Brown, Durham Constabulary
  • Edward Doherty, National Ambulance Service of Ireland
  • Kevin Paterson, Police Scotland

Leader of the Year

  • Allan Steele, G4S in partnership with Lincolnshire Police
  • Beth Watson, North East Ambulance Service
  • Nathan Hughes, Welsh ambulance Service

Team of the Year, sponsored by Emergency Services Times

  • Cambridgeshire and Suffolk Combined Fire Control
  • Digital Contact Team, Metropolitan Police
  • Senior Health Advisor Team, North East Ambulance Service

Special Recognition Award for Bravery and Courage, sponsored by UK Cloud

  • Myles Alexander, Kent Police
  • Caitlyn Brumby, G4S in partnership with Lincolnshire Police
  • Sean Ash, London Ambulance Service

Control Room Ambassador of the Year

  • June Gibson, Kent Police
  • Demi Haggar, Durham Constabulary
  • Colleen Whelan, National Ambulance Service of Ireland

The John Gilhooly Unsung Hero Award

  • Sam Dunne, Houses of Parliament
  • Graeme Scott, Police Scotland
  • Andy Taylor, Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service

Lifetime Achievement, sponsored by Embrace Child Victims of Crime

  • Keith Diamond, London Fire Brigade
  • Denise Madderson, Northumbria Police
  • Jim Shand, Devon and Cornwall Police

For more information on the awards go to Follow the awards on Facebook: @controlroomawards, Twitter: @CR_Awards, Facebook and LinkedIn: Control Room Awards.

© TCCA. Website design: Peacock Carter