Ericsson’s Jason Johur joins TCCA Board

04 June 2018:  Jason Johur, Ericsson’s Market Development Director for Mission-Critical and Private Networks, and Vice Chair of TCCA’s Broadband Industry Group (BIG) since 2017, has joined the Board of TCCA. His appointment was confirmed at TCCA’s Annual General Meeting, held at Critical Communications World in Berlin. 

Jason has worked in critical communications for more than 20 years. He has been a leading contributor in efforts to develop, standardise and enhance the capabilities and benefits of TETRA technology for the critical communications user community. As well as being directly involved with ETSI TETRA standardisation, Jason has co-authored various TETRA interoperability specifications and contributed to TCCA’s Security & Fraud Prevention Working Group (SFPG) recommendations.

Since 2011 his focus has expanded to cover industry strategy and market development activities for mission critical mobile broadband technologies, working closely with TCCA’s Critical Communications Broadband Group (CCBG) where he was co-Chair of the Strategy working group from 2012-2014. He co-authored the CCBG broadband strategy paper, leveraging his research into the socio-economic benefits of mobile broadband for the emergency services, and referred to by the London School of Economics.

“We are delighted to welcome Jason as the new Board member representing Ericsson,” said Mladen Vratonjić, TCCA Board Chair. “His range of technical and market knowledge across both narrowband and broadband technologies will benefit TCCA’s work in helping to deliver the best critical communications solutions to meet end user needs.”

“Joining TCCA’s Board will enable me to further uphold the interests of TCCA members in pursuit of their common goals and for mutual benefit,” said Jason Johur. “These include maximising the opportunities for further development of the mission critical mobile broadband market and the TETRA market, the adherence to open standards, and leveraging the opportunities for our community created by 3GPP LTE and 5G mission-critical technologies.”

TCCA’s Board 2018-19 comprises:

  • Mladen Vratonjić, Chair

Board members:

  • Dr Barbara Held, BDBOS, Germany
  • Philippe Agard, Nokia
  • Ari Toivonen, UK Home Office
  • Ali Helenius, Airbus
  • Jeppe Jepsen, Motorola Solutions
  • Tero Pesonen, Suomen Virveverkko Oy
  • Francesco Pasquali, Leonardo
  • Jason Johur, Ericsson

About TCCA

TCCA represents all standard mobile critical communications technologies and complementary applications. Our Members are drawn from end users, operators and industry across the globe. We believe in and promote the principle of open and competitive markets worldwide through the use of open standards and harmonised spectrum. We maintain and enhance the TETRA Professional Mobile Radio (PMR) standard, and drive the development of common global mobile standards for critical broadband. TCCA is a 3GPP Market Representation Partner and a member of the Mission Critical Open Platform (MCOP) project. Our Members actively contribute in 3GPP working groups.  To find out more, please visit or contact us at

Follow us @TCCAcritcomms

For further information please contact

© TCCA. Website design: Peacock Carter